Cornerstone Academy is accredited by the North Central Association (NCA). It is a State Recognized School of the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) and is a private high school serving the Chicagoland area.

Please visit our Contact Us page to submit any questions or call our office for more information. 


Principal: Jim Wilkes


Cornerstone Academy serves the educational needs of students throughout the Chicago area. Through a system of donors and a work study program which partners with local businesses, the school is able to offer varying tuition based on the economic ability of the parents. In this way, CSA is able to provide quality education to students from a diverse economic base. Each year, CSA serves between 25 and 40 students between the 9 - 12 grades. Most of the students who attend CSA have attended other high schools which were not able to meet their needs. CSA provides a low teacher-student ratio, allowing the needs of each student to be met in individual ways.



Cornerstone Academy is a small, private, Christian high school which began in 1994 and had its first graduate in the spring of 1995. CSA is state recognized school and is accredited by the North Central Association (NCA).  



CSA strives to help students complete the Illinois State Board of Education requirements. Four credits a semester is the maximum course load.

Ranking, GPA Calculation and Graduation Requirements

CSA does not incorporate class ranking.

GPA is calculated using the above quality points. All incoming students are placed on academic probation and must pass their first quarter classes to remain enrolled. The graduation requirements are as follows:

  1. Earn a minimum of 20 credits.

  2. Accomplish 50 hours of community service.

  3. Complete a cooperative work requirement of three months, or a 144 hour volunteer work experience equivalent.

  4. Pass a Chicago geography exam.

  5. Pass the Federal and State Constitution Exams.

IMG_0288 (1).jpg


Cornerstone Academy’s graduating class size ranges from 8-14.  Graduates typically enroll in the Chicago City Colleges after graduation.  They have also been accepted into the following colleges:

  • Arrupe College

  • Columbia College

  • Concordia University

  • Grambling University College

  • Harold Washington

  • Howard University

  • Illinois Central College

  • Joliet Junior College

  • Loyola University

  • Malcolm X College

  • Millikin University

  • North Park University

  • Northeastern University

  • Robert Morris University

  • Southern Illinois University

  • University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

  • University of Illinois at Chicago

  • Wright Junior College